Turton & District Bowling Association

Minutes of meetings

Manage league

Welcome to the web site of the Turton & District Bowling Association.

League Sponsored by: American Pan.

Other Sponsors


President: Eric Williams, Esq

Chairman: Barry Robinson, Esq. 07835 406602

Vice Chairman: Mike Bailey, Esq. 01204 306771, 07482 608108

General Secretary: Sandie Whittaker. 07512 501385

Treasurer: Sandie Whittaker, 07512 501385Esq sandiewhitt@yahoo.co.uk

Fixtures Secretary: Jim Sheffield, Esq 01204 596786, 07484 761551

Competitions Secretary. Mike Dickinson 01254 234080 07841 635360

Honorary Life Members.

Brian Duncan, Esq.

Eric Williams, Esq.


Executive Committee.

Dobbies: John Southern. Cliff Unsworth

Eagley: Eric.Haslam, Roland Gee.

Edgworth A: Ian Harvey, 

Edgworth B: Andy Tighe. David Brierley 01204 305493

Great Lever BCC Booths: Clive Fenn

Longsight A: Dougie Baxendale, John Hawkins.

Longsight B: Eddie Ellard. Petrer Turner

Tonge Moor Cons: Rod Hall.

Turton A: George Williams.

Turton B: Graham.Howarth.

The AGM ill be held on Wednesday 19th January in the the Churchill Room at Dunscar Conservative Club startin at 7-30pm.

Executive Meetings to be held at Dunscar Conservative Club 7-30pm Start.

Dunscar Conservative Club, Hardmans Lane, Bromley Cross, Bolton. (Founded 1894) are pleased to be associated with Turton & District Bowling Association.

Dunscar Catering Services. Catering for all occassions. * Food for Thought*. Contact Sarah on 07802 473065.

Team Contacts.

Dobbies: John Southern 01204 398958, 07977 950918. Cliff Unsworth cliffunsy@hotmail.com

Eagley: Eric Haslam 01204 417706. R Gee 01204 305310

Edgworth A: Ian Harvey 01204 852769, Barry Robinson 07835 406602

Edgworth B: Andy Tighe 07847 812687. email: andytighe8@gmail.com.   David Brierley 01204 305493

Great Lever BCC Booths: Clive Fenn 01204 708839, 07949 200926 

Longsight A: Dougie Baxendale 07766 521576

Longsight B: Peter Turner 07968 273943. Eddie Ellard 01204 386967, 07507 123972

Tonge Moor Cons: Rodney Hall 01204 396347, 07717 086576. Dave Crook 07956037506

Turton A: George Williams 01204 306120. Jim Sheffield 01204 596786. 07484761551

Turton B: Graham Howarth 01204 598481, 07549 938913. 

Date and Venues for 2022 Cup Competitions.  All entrants to advise Mike Dickinson, preferably by email. mikejduc@gmail.uk

All teams are to provide  at least one player or pair the the league competitions. Failure to do this will subject the team to a £10 fine.

AGM Trophy: Sunday 1st May. at Dobbies. Sign in 11-15am for 11-30am start.

Mike Williams Pairs Trophy:  Sunday 15th May at Tonge Park. Sign in 11-15am for 11-30am start.

Fred Haslam Trophy: Sunday 26th June at Longsight. Sign in 11-15am for 11-30am start.

David Howarth Trophy: Sunday 7th August at Dunscar Conservative Club. Sign in 11-15am for 11-30am start.

George Wood Trophy. Sunday 28th August at Egerton to be confirmed. 

Ainsworth Shield. To be confirmed. 

Milburn Cup. Sunday 4th September at Dunscar Conservative Club. sign in 11-15am for 11-30am start.

Milburn Cup Handicaps 2022. The propsal to paly the Milburn Cup in its original format, 4 Home and 4 Away was passed at the AGM. The handicap system number three in Mick Williamd table of handicaps was also accepted. It was agreed that with Dobbies and Tonge Moor having to share the Milburn Cup due to the final not being played were to have a scratch hanficap for the competition. 

  • Dobbies SC 0
  • Tonge Moor 0
  • Turton 12
  • Longsight Park A 16
  • Edgworth BC A 20
  • Eagley Park A 24
  • Longsight Park B 28
  • Turton B 32
  • BCC Booths 36
  • Edgworth BC B 40


2022 Competition Winners.

AGM Trophy. Winner Mike Howard. Runner Up Mark Bradshaw. Losing Semi Finalists. Tony Wilkins and Bob Williams.

2021 Competition Winnses

AGM Trophy. Due to the late start of the season the competition could not be played.

Fred Haslam Trophy. Winner Harvey Moore. Runner Up Tony Wilkins. Losng Semi Finalists: Stuart Houghton, Charlotte Buckley.

Mike Williams Pairs Trophy. Winners Mike Bailey/Mick Hilton, Runners Up. Mark Bradshaw/Alan Rukin. Beaten Semi Finalists. Bob Williams/Les Fishwick. Alan Parker/ George Manning.

George Wood Trophy. Winner Chris Edwards. Runner Up Dougie Baxendale.

David Howarth Trophy. Due to the late start of the saeson the competition could not be played.

Milburn Cup. Due to the bad weather at the end of the season the cup was shared by the four finalists. Dobbies, Eagley, Longsight and Tonge Moor.

Ainsworth Shield. Due to the bad weather at the end of the season the shield was shared by the four finalists. Edgworth B, Great Lever, Longsight B and Turton B

Merits. Winner John Mort, second Mark Bradshaw, third Mike Bailey.

2019 Competition Winners

AGM Trophy: Winner  Mark Bradshaw. Runner Up. Stuart Houghton. Losing Semi Finalists: John Mort, Andy Warman.

Mike Williams Pairs Trophy. Winners Mark Bradshaw/Alex Power. Runners Up Les Hignett/Mark Warburton. Losing Semi Finalists. John Haslam/John Mort, Margaret Turtington/Ross Hatzer

Fred Haslam Trophy. Winner Alan Rukin. Runner Up. Eric Haslam. Beaten Semi Finalists. Clive Fenn and Alex Power

David Howarth Trophy. Winner John Southern. Runner Up Dougie Baxendale. Beaten Semi Finalists Ross Hatzer and Alex Power.

Ainsworth Shield. Winners Edgworth A. Runners Up Great Lever BCC Booths. Beaten Semi Finalists. Edgworth B, Turton B.

George Wood Trophy: Mark Bradshaw. Runner Up John Mort. Beaten Semi Finalists. Ian Price, Peter Crook

Milburn Cup: Winners Turton A. Runners Up Tonge Moor. Beaten Semi Finalists. Dobbies, Eagley

Merits. 1st Mark Bradshaw, 2nd Dougie Baxendale, 3rd John Mort.  

2018 Competition Winners

AGM Trophy Winner: Eric Williams. Runner Up: Peter Crook. Losing Semi Finalists: Stuart Houghton, Mike Bailey

League Pair Winners: John Haslam/John Mort. Runners Up: Sandie Whittaker/Barry Robinson. Losing Semi Finalists: Les Brown/Stuart Houghton, Kerry Holt/Andy Warman.

Fred Haslam Trophy Winner: Alan Hesford. Runner Up. John Mort. Losing Semi Finalists Eric Williams, George Williams.

Ainsworth Cup Winner: Barry Robinson. Runner Up Kerry Holt. Losing Semi Finalists Eddie Ellard, David Farnworth.

Milburn Cup. Winners Turton. Runners Up.Tonge Moor. Losing Semi Finalists. Longsight B, Dobbies

George Wood Trophy. Winner: Peter Howard. Runner Up. Mark Warburton. Losing Semi Finalists. John Mort, Bob Williams. A big thank you to Egerton for hosting the competition.

Ainsworth Shield. Winners Longsight A. Runners Up Eagley. 

Merits 1st Barry Howarth, Mick Howard, 3rd Alan Mealor.

2017 Competition Winners. 

2017 League Champions. Tottington. Runners Up Dobbies.

2017 AGM Trophy. Winner: Malcolm Stretch. Runner Up: Lee Bleakley.

2017 League Pairs. Winners: John Haslam/John Mort. Runners Up: Mick Howard/Margaret Turtington

2017 Fred Haslam Trophy. Winner: Anthony Rukin. Runner Up: Les Brown

2017 Ainsworth Cup. Winner: Stuart Houghton . Runner Up: John Mort

2017 George Wood Trophy. Winner: John Mort. Runner Up: Barry Robinson

2017 Milburn Cup. Winners: Tonge Moor. Runners Up: Edgworth A

2017 Ainsworth Shield. Winners: Eagley. Runners Up: Egerton.

Merits. 1st Lee Bleakley. 2nd Peter Howard. 3rd Alan Mealor


Fred Haslam Trophy.

Bank Top Brewery. The Pavilion, Ashworth Lane, Bank Top, Bolton 01204 595800. Brewers of fine traditional beers.

The George Wood Trophy.