Bolton and District Bowling League

Welcome to Bolton and District Crown Green Bowling League website.

Ladies Contacts
Mens Contacts
Men's Cup Competitions
League Rules
Results Entry Guide
Lancashire Competitions

Useful Links:
BCGBA Website
Lancashire Website
BCGBA - Latest Newsletter
BCGBA Registration Form
BCGBA Development Plan
CGB Federation
Safeguarding Website

League admin (Ladies)
League admin (Men)



The Lancashire Mixed Pairs Competition date set for Sunday 28th July.

BCGBA & Lancashire Information on Competitions, Safe Guarding, Fundraising and many other topics can be found here.

Teams in the semi-finals of the cup will be expected to arrange dates themselves. The finals are scheduled for 22nd September with a 12:00 for 12:30 start.

The Bolton & District Bowling League (formerly the Bolton Workshops & Social Clubs Bowling League) was established in 1926.

The Headquarters of the League is at the Railway Sports & Social Club, Green Lane, Bolton.

The League is open to all ages and is non discriminatory. New Bowlers are always welcome.

The League is made of four divisions:-

Ladies Section A and Ladies Section B. The Ladies sections play on Monday,Tuesday & Wednesday evenings.

Mens Section 1 and  Mens Section 2. The Mens Sections play on Tuesday evenings only.      

Please use the left hand tabs for all team information.  

Please click the post holder to contact the Chairperson - Barry Robinson; Acting League Secretary - Clive Fenn - Results & Fixtures Secretary - Christine Wareing; Website Manager - Clive Fenn

The Committee would like to wish all our teams and players a pleasant and successful season.

Ladies - John Hill Rose Bowl Competition - 2024

Ladies' President's Cup Competition - 2024

Ladies - Competitions - Dates for 2024 Season

Date of Next Meeting

Ladies - John Hill Rose Bowl Competition - 2024

Report of the John Hill Rose Bowl Ladies' Competition held on the 8th July at Little Lever Conservative Club.

The Gods were kind and the predicted rain and thunderstorms failed to materialise making for a great day.  Thank you to Little Lever Conservative Club for their kind hosting with some delicious food on offer to the bowlers.

Thank you also to all the ladies who helped with the marking and pegging and thanks to Maria Higgins who assisted me on the day and without whose help the competition would not have run as successfully as it did.

There were 24 bowlers and many additional people on hand to support and enjoy he day.

There were 4 groups with 6 bowlers in each group.  Each bowler had three blocks each and the successful top two bowlers from each group went on to the Quarter Finals.  The Crowd witnessed some excellent bowling.  And, it was very pleasing to see everyone stay for the final.

Everyone told me they had a great day and I hope to see many of them at the next competition.

Congratulations to all who got through the group stage.


Quarter finals

Elaine Norris 7 v Sue Banks 1

Mandy Winward 4 v Rita Dunn 2

Carol Threlfall 5 v Charlotte Sugden 3

Lesley Hope 5 v Eileen Milner 2


Semi Finals

Elaine Norris 8 v Mandy Winward 4

Carol Threlfall 9 v Lesley Hope 6



Elaine Norris 5 v Carol Threlfall 8

A really good final kindly officiated by Brenda Fenn.  Commiserations to the Runner Up Elaine Norris and a big congratulations to the WINNER Carol Threlfall

Susan Worsley

Bolton & District ladies Competition Secretary


(Wednesday 10 July 2024)

Ladies' President's Cup Competition - 2024

Report of Bolton & District Ladies President's Cup

The President’s Cup was held on the 19th May at Dunscar Conservative Club.  There were 29 Entrants representing eight Clubs and a big thank you to those clubs that sent more than two ladies.  This meant we could hold a successful competition.

Luckily for the ladies we had a day rarely seen this year, in that the Sun made a long appearance, with all spectators sat outside enjoying the rays and the bowling.  Thank you to everyone at Dunscar for your kind hospitality.  Thanks to Maria Higgins who again acted as my Assistant on the day and thank you to all the ladies who marked, measured and went round with the raffle.  You all make my role as Competition Secretary so easy.

The Green was running on the day and quite unforgiving if you were a centimetre off with your bowling line. 

Those making it to the Quarter Final were;

S Hilton (Winner) v M Howcroft

S Worsley (Winner) v Louise Heaney

C Dew v K Hadjinicolou (Winner)

R Dunn (Winner) v M Taylor

Semi Final

S Hilton (Winner) v S Worsley

K Hadjinicolou (Winner) v R Dunn


Sue Hilton v Kath Hadjinicolou (Winner)

Well done to both ladies who had met and beaten some very worthy bowlers on their way to the final.  The final was officiated by the lovely Jean Naughton a past Competition Organiser herself and a home member of Dunscar Ladies team.  Thank you, Jean.  The final was thrilling with no one able to predict who was going to win.  Kath Hadjinicolou was outstanding on the day to beat Sue Hilton who had bowled amazingly all through the day.  Well done Sue and Congratulations to the Presidents Cup 2024 Winner Kath Hadjinicolou.

Our Chairman Barry Robinson gave a speech of thanks and Congratulations, and the Cup was presented by our President Alison Duncan.

Picture: On the left Kath Hadjinicolou and on the right Sue Hilton

Susan Worsley

Bolton & District Competition Organiser

(Sunday 16 June 2024)

Ladies - Competitions - Dates for 2024 Season

Competition dates for the Ladies League are as follows

i. President’s Cup 19st May Dunscar CC

ii. John Hill Rose Bowl 7th July Little Lever CC

iii. Fred Bridges Pairs 4th August Venue to be confirmed

The date for the Fred Bridges Pairs is a post meeting correction

(Tuesday 30 January 2024)

Date of Next Meeting

The next meeting of the Bolton & District League is the League Meeting on 19th March 2024 at the Railway Club on Green Lane from 7.30 - this meeting is for the payment of any fees and collection of score cards etc.


Team Registration Sheet for 2024 season

Current list of District Officers, District Ladies Team Secretaries and District Mens' Team Secretaries for the 2023 season.



Future Dates

19th March 2024 @ the Railway from 7.30pm

17th September @ the Railway from 7.30pm


Minutes and Papers of previous meetings

Draft Minutes of the AGM held on 23rd January 2024

Secretary's Report for the 2023 Season

Annual Accounts - Treasurer's Report

Proposals considered at the AGM

Change of wording to Rule 10 associated with matches in play being abandoned. - this proposal was accepted and Rule 10 will be modified 

Equality of Prize Money for both Mens' and Ladies' Leagues. - this was dropped as not a matter for the AGM but for the Management Committee as per Rule 19


Trophy and Prize Winners - for the 2023 Season.

Minutes of the AGM held on 14h February 2023

Secretary's Report

Treasurer's Balance Sheet

Proposal to review Cup Handicaps

Proposal to set Cup Final Dates at the beginning of the season

Ladies two divisions to be merged into one and proposal to apply handicaps in the new league


District Prize Winners 2022

Draft Minutes of the AGM held on 8th March 2022

Balance Sheet for 2021

List of Prize Winners from 2021 season.

Minutes of the AGM held 28th January 2020

The Balance Sheet for the Bolton and District League in 2020 can be found by clicking


(Sunday 26 November 2023)